Stage 2 Coordinator: Rebecca Hobbs

2020-21 has been a very challenging year for our Stage 2 students. In the autumn term, teaching combined face-to-face and for those unable to join in person, on Microsoft Teams and One Note. In the spring term, tutorials were all online.

The modules contributed to a greater understanding of Renaissance to Neoclassicism, 19th Century Architecture, Form and Structure, and Climate. The two design modules, Architecture and Landscape and Collective Dwelling challenged students to re-imagine the city, in its landscape and in the lives of its dwellers.

Architecture and Landscape

The relationship between a building and a landscape, the threshold between a working landscape and a building to support it, was located on the beautiful Grey Friars site in Canterbury. Students were challenged to site a building within this historical setting, create a landscape for growing produce and illustrate an understanding of elementary planting design.  The architecture and landscape were to be fully integrated spatially, conceptually with sustainability and the environment at its heart.

Collective Dwelling

This second design project of the year was again located within the city walls. A car park sandwiched between Castle Street and Castle Row offered students the opportunity to explore the site’s rich history, its relationship with the Norman Castle Keep, the historical Wincheap Gate, and Worthgate, together with long views of the cathedral formed a fascinating context for the brief. Its proximity to the Dane John Garden and a footpath leading to Bingley Island encouraged students to integrate landscape as part of their masterplan. City living, live/work opportunities, apartments, almshouses, two and three bed dwelling with associated community provisions formed the basis of this challenging module.

List of Stage 2 tutors


Anske Bax, Robert Brown, Catriona Burns, Benedetta Castagna, Huda Elsherif, Joseph Eyles, Professor Gordana Fontana-Guisti, Matthew Gisbey, Dr Manolo Guerci, Rebecca Hobbs, Victoria Lorenco, Jessica Lumley, Patrick O'Keeffe, Professor Alan Powers, Fiona Raley, Sukanya Ravi, Jef Smith, Dr Richard Watkins, Ben Wood, Ronald Yee, Chloe Young.